Bauer bei der Arbeit
Christian Bobst
HEKS/EPER AND THE 2030 AGENDA

THE ROAD TO SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

The 2030 Agenda

The UN «2030 Agenda» is a global plan for promoting sustainable development up to 2030. It was adopted by UN Member States in 2015. The 17 goals and 169 targets it contains – the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) – encompass all three dimensions of sustainable development, namely the economic, social and environmental aspects. The overarching goal is to leave no-one behind. This is ambitious, considering that the Corona pandemic has just brutally laid bare and compounded existing inequalities. Through its work in Switzerland and abroad, HEKS/EPER is striving specifically to help realise the 2030 Agenda.

 

Implementation in Switzerland

Many hail the 2030 Agenda as a paradigm shift, for unlike the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs), which preceded it and concerned only the countries in the global South, the 2030 Agenda holds all countries to their duty to help advance global development. At the national level, this means that all policy-making processes must pay much greater attention to the goals of the 2030 Agenda – including in Switzerland.
Implementing the 2030 Agenda calls for immense political will. Realising the SDGs and combating poverty, social injustice and climate change require the transformation of the economic and political systems of contemporary societies. They further necessitate ambitious action on the part of all stakeholders, including the involvement of civil society and the pressure it brings to bear.
 
 
Agenda 2030 Grafik Handeln
Chart
HEKS/EPER and the 2030 Agenda

Learn more here about the HEKS/EPER contribution to implementing the SDGs through its project work (in German).

HEKS/EPER therefore joined forces with some 40 Swiss organisations in 2017 and created the «2030 Agenda Platform», a civil society network that is supporting and monitoring implementation of the 2030 Agenda in Switzerland. In July 2018 the Platform published its report titled «How sustainable is Switzerland?» in which it highlighted the need for action and set out recommendations for the implementation of the 2030 Agenda. Accordingly, the Platform called for the 2030 Agenda to be more strongly embedded institutionally in the Federal Administration, for the provision of sufficient resources for implementation, and for greater political coherence in pursuit of sustainable development.
In late 2020 the Federal Council too tabled its «2030 Sustainable Development Strategy», in which it laid out how it plans to implement the 2030 Agenda over the next 10 years. The Strategy falls considerably short of the ambitions, however. The draft fails to lay out concrete, binding and measurable implementation goals for Switzerland, or to provide for additional funding to implement the SDGs up to 2030. In the course of the public consultation procedure the HEKS/EPER input included this criticism as well as specific proposals for amendment.

The challenge of multiple crises

In 2019 the United Nations published a report titled «Global sustainable development report», which was the first stock-taking of the progress made. The study found that all the accomplishments of the past two decades were at risk of being undone by the numerous crises of our time, including climate change or the proliferation of armed conflict. Admittedly, the number of children and adolescents not attending school has fallen over recent years, many communicable diseases are on the wane, access to drinking water has improved, and women are much better represented in leadership positions. At the same time, however, ever more people are confronting food insecurity, the degradation of our environment continues at an alarming pace and there is glaring inequality in all regions of the world.
It is already becoming apparent today that the Covid-19 pandemic and its economic and social ramifications will very adversely impact most of the 17 SDGs. In the countries of the global South, vulnerable population groups such as the elderly, children, persons with disabilities, members of minorities, migrants and refugees are being hit considerably harder than the rest of society. Even high-income countries are recording their highest mortality rates among marginalised groups.
Corona Nothilfe Bangladesch
Faysal Ahmad

The 2030 Agenda in HEKS/EPER's project work

For the current decade, the «2030 Agenda» and its guiding principle of «leaving no-one behind» constitute a key priority and frame of reference for the work of HEKS/EPER abroad and in Switzerland. In keeping with Goal 10, «Reduced Inequality», HEKS/EPER therefore assists disadvantaged people in Switzerland in becoming socially integrated and in playing an active part in society. By providing legal advice, HEKS/EPER ensures that asylum seekers and other socially disadvantaged people have equal access to justice (Goal 16 «Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions»). Through its international project work HEKS/EPER also champions the participation of socially underprivileged, marginalised people in social, cultural, political and economic life. These groups include Roma communities in Eastern Europe, Adivasis and Dalits in Bangladesh or indigenous communities in Latin American countries. HEKS/EPER too is convinced that equitable access to social, economic, cultural and political life strengthens social coherence and thereby lays the solid groundwork needed for thriving, inclusive and peaceful societies.

HEKS Integrationsprogramme HIP (Bild Nr. 530.006)

Mehr erfahren

Donate now!

Your donation will trigger big changes from small beginnings.

CHF
75
CHF
150
CHF
250
CHF
Select the amount of your donation
Your donation goes to:
Where it is needed most

Bauer bei der Arbeit
Christian Bobst
HEKS und die Agenda 2030

Der Weg zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung

Agenda 2030

Die «Agenda 2030» der UNO ist ein globaler Plan zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung bis 2030. Sie wurde 2015 von den UNO-Mitgliedsstaaten verabschiedet. Die darin festgehaltenen 17 Ziele und 169 Unterziele – die «Sustainable Development Goals» (SDGs) – berücksichtigen alle drei Dimensionen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung: ökonomische, soziale sowie ökologische Aspekte. Das übergeordnete Ziel ist, Niemanden zurückzulassen. Das ist ambitioniert, hat doch gerade die Corona-Pandemie bestehende Ungleichheiten schonungslos aufgedeckt und weiter verschärft. HEKS will mit seiner Arbeit im In- und Ausland gezielt zur Verwirklichung der Agenda 2030 beitragen.

 

Umsetzung in der Schweiz

Von vielen wird die Agenda 2030 als Paradigmenwechsel gefeiert, denn im Gegensatz zu den vorangegangenen «Millenium Development Goals» (MDGs), die nur die Länder des globalen Südens betrafen, nimmt die Agenda 2030 alle Staaten in die Pflicht, ihren Beitrag an eine nachhaltige globale Entwicklung zu leisten. Auf nationaler Ebene bedeutet dies, dass die Ziele der Agenda 2030 bei allen politischen Entscheiden verstärkt berücksichtigt werden müssen – auch in der Schweiz.
Die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 erfordert einen immensen politischen Willen. Um die SDGs zu erreichen und Armut, soziale Ungerechtigkeit und den Klimawandel zu bekämpfen, braucht es eine Transformation der wirtschaftlichen und politischen Systeme unserer heutigen Gesellschaften. Dazu wiederum sind ambitionierte Massnahmen seitens aller Interessenträger gefordert, auch die Beteiligung und der Druck der Zivilgesellschaft. 
 
Agenda 2030 Grafik Handeln
Grafik
HEKS und die Agenda 2030

Erfahren Sie hier, wie HEKS mit seiner Projektarbeit zur Umsetzung der SDGs beiträgt.

Zusammen mit rund 40 Schweizer Organisationen gründete HEKS 2017 deshalb das zivilgesellschaftliche Netzwerk «Plattform Agenda 2030», das die Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 in der Schweiz unterstützt und begleitet. Im Juli 2018 veröffentlichte die Plattform ihren Bericht «Wie nachhaltig ist die Schweiz?», in dem sie den Handlungsbedarf aufzeigte und Empfehlungen zur Umsetzung der Agenda 2030 formulierte. So forderte die Plattform etwa eine stärkere institutionelle Verankerung der Agenda 2030 innerhalb der Bundesverwaltung, ausreichende Ressourcen für die Umsetzung und die Stärkung der politischen Kohärenz für nachhaltige Entwicklung.
Auch der Bundesrat hat Ende 2020 seine «Strategie Nachhaltige Entwicklung 2030» vorgelegt, in der er aufzeigt, wie er die Agenda 2030 in den nächsten zehn Jahren umsetzen will. Die Strategie bleibt jedoch weit hinter den Ambitionen zurück. Der Entwurf definiert weder konkrete, verbindliche und messbare Umsetzungsziele für die Schweiz, noch sind zusätzliche finanzielle Ressourcen zur Umsetzung der SDGs bis 2030 vorgesehen. Diese Kritik sowie konkrete Änderungsempfehlungen hat HEKS im Rahmen seiner Teilnahme am Vernehmlassungsverfahren eingebracht.

Die Herausforderung der multiplen Krisen

Im Jahr 2019 haben die Vereinten Nationen mit dem Bericht «Global Sustainable Development Report» eine erste Bilanz gezogen. Die Ergebnisse der Studie haben gezeigt, dass die multiplen Krisen unserer Zeit wie der Klimawandel oder die Zunahme von bewaffneten Konflikten drohen, die in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten erzielten Fortschritte wieder rückgängig zu machen. Zwar ist der Anteil der Kinder und Jugendlichen, die keine Schule besuchen, in den letzten Jahren gesunken, viele übertragbare Krankheiten sind rückläufig, der Zugang zu Trinkwasser hat sich verbessert und Frauen sind in Führungspositionen stärker vertreten. Gleichzeitig leiden jedoch immer mehr Menschen an Ernährungsunsicherheit, die Zerstörung unserer Umwelt setzt sich bestürzend rasch fort und in allen Weltregionen herrscht enorme Ungleichheit. 
Dass sich auch die COVID-19 Pandemie und ihre wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen stark negativ auf die meisten der 17 SDGs auswirken wird, zeichnet sich bereits heute ab. In den Ländern des globalen Südens sind verletzliche Personengruppen wie ältere Menschen, Kinder, Menschen mit Behinderungen, Angehörige von Minderheiten, Migrantinnen und Migranten und Flüchtlinge deutlich stärker betroffen als der Rest der Gesellschaft. Und auch Länder mit hohem Einkommen verzeichnen bei marginalisierten Gruppen die höchsten Sterblichkeitsraten.
 
Corona Nothilfe Bangladesch
Faysal Ahmad

Agenda 2030 in der HEKS-Projektarbeit

Für das laufende Jahrzehnt bilden die «Agenda 2030» und ihr Leitprinzip «Niemanden zurücklassen» einen wichtigen Schwerpunkt und Referenzrahmen der Arbeit von HEKS im Ausland und in der Schweiz. So unterstützt HEKS in Übereinstimmung mit dem Ziel 10 «Weniger Ungleichheit»  benachteiligte Menschen in der Schweiz bei ihrer sozialen Integration und verhilft ihnen zur aktiven Teilhabe am gesellschaftlichen Leben. Mit Rechtsberatungen gewährleistet HEKS Asylsuchenden und anderen sozial Benachteiligten einen gleichberechtigten Zugang zur Justiz (Ziel 16 «Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen»). Auch im Ausland engagiert sich HEKS in seiner Projektarbeit für die Teilhabe sozial benachteiligter, marginalisierter Menschen am sozialen, kulturellen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Leben. Dazu zählen unter anderem Roma-Gemeinschaften in Ost-Europa, Adibashi und Dalit in Bangladesch oder indigene Gemeinschaften in lateinamerikanischen Ländern. Denn auch HEKS ist überzeugt: Ein gleichberechtigter Zugang zum sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, kulturellen und politischen Leben stärkt den sozialen Zusammenhalt und bildet somit eine wichtige Grundlage für prosperierende, inklusive und friedliche Gesellschaften. 

HEKS Integrationsprogramme HIP (Bild Nr. 530.006)

Mehr erfahren

Spenden Sie jetzt!

Ihre Spende wird im Kleinen Grosses bewirken

CHF
75
CHF
150
CHF
250
CHF
Bestimmen Sie selbst, wieviel Sie spenden möchten.
Ich spende für:
Dort, wo es am nötigsten ist