Wasser - ein öffentliches Gut
Andreas Schwaiger
Rural Community Development

Water - basic prerequisite for all forms of life

Water – a public good

Water is a basic prerequisite for all forms of life on earth and is therefore of inestimable value, whether for drinking or for food production. Yet this life-sustaining resource is more endangered than ever. Through its project work and its awareness-raising and networking activities, HEKS/EPER strives to ensure that the human right of access to water is recognized, protected and implemented.

Nothing to be taken for granted

While clean water from the tap is taken for granted in Switzerland, 663 million people worldwide still lack access to water. Poor and disadvantaged people are those most affected by this shortcoming.
Their access to clean water is being threatened by the diversion of rivers to provide irrigation for single-crop farming, for dam projects and mining projects, or as a result of extensive water pollution by pesticides. Wherever there is a shortage, there will invariably be people trying to make a profit. Big corporations view water as a valuable economic asset and are promoting the privatization of water resources.

Wasser ein Menschenrecht - HEKS
Annette Boutellier

Water – a human right

In 2010 the UN declared access to water a human right. The «Declaration on the rights of peasants» adopted by the UN General Assembly at the end of 2017 also unequivocally grants rural population groups the right of access to water. The affected people themselves represent the most significant force for implementing the human right to water. The fact is that well-informed people are empowered to defend and claim their rights.
HEKS/EPER assists them in this regard. For years we have been striving, through our project work in Africa, Asia and Latin America, to improve and secure access to water, for example by building or repairing drinking water wells and agricultural irrigation systems. HEKS/EPER also secures drinking water supplies in the wake of natural disasters or in refugee camps.

Zugang zu Wasser für alle - Armenien
Walter Imhof

Blue Community – an international network

Set up in 2010, the Blue Community is an international network of civil society organizations and public institutions committed to the realization of the human right to water as a public good. It was created as a tool for implementing the human right of access to water approved by the UN General Assembly. Membership is open to political communes, church communities and organizations.
HEKS has been a Blue Community member since 2017 and promotes the Community’s causes through its networking activities. Interested groups and individuals may contact HEKS/EPER regarding questions of Blue Community membership.

Karl Heuberger HEKS - Wasser
Are you interested?
Contact us

Karl Heuberger
Tel.: +41 44 360 88 81
Mail: karl.heuberger@heks.ch

Donate now!

Your donation will trigger big changes from small beginnings.

CHF
30
CHF
75
CHF
120
CHF
Select the amount of your donation
Your donation goes to:

Wasser - ein öffentliches Gut
Andreas Schwaiger
Entwicklung ländlicher Gemeinschaften

Wasser – Grundvoraussetzung für jegliches Leben

Wasser – ein öffentliches Gut

Wasser ist Grundvoraussetzung für jegliches Leben auf unserer Erde und daher von unschätzbarem Wert, sei es als Trinkwasser oder zur Produktion von Nahrungsmitteln. Doch diese Lebensgrundlage ist bedrohter denn je. HEKS setzt sich über seine Projekt-, Sensibilisierungs- und Netzwerkarbeit dafür ein, dass das Menschenrecht auf Zugang zu Wasser anerkannt, geschützt und umgesetzt wird.

Keine Selbstverständlichkeit

Während sauberes Wasser aus dem Hahn in der Schweiz eine Selbstverständlichkeit ist, haben weltweit 663 Millionen Menschen nach wie vor keinen Zugang zu Wasser. Vom Mangel betroffen sind insbesondere arme und benachteiligte Menschen.
Die Umleitung von Flüssen zur Bewässerung von Monokulturen, für Staudammprojekte, für Bergbauprojekte oder die massive Verschmutzung der Gewässer durch Pestizide bedrohen ihren Zugang zu sauberem Wasser. Wo Verknappung herrscht, wird zudem stets versucht, Profit zu schlagen: Grosskonzernen sehen im Wasser ein kostbares Wirtschaftsgut und treiben die Privatisierung von Wasserressourcen voran.

Wasser ein Menschenrecht - HEKS
Annette Boutellier

Wasser ist ein Menschenrecht

Die UNO hat 2010 den Zugang zu Wasser zu einem Menschenrecht erklärt. Auch in der Ende 2018 von der UNO Generalversammlung angenommenen «Deklaration für die Rechte der Kleinbauern» wird ländlichen Bevölkerungsgruppen das Recht auf Zugang zu Wasser unmissverständlich zugesprochen. Wichtigste Kraft zur Durchsetzung des Menschenrechts auf Wasser sind die betroffenen Menschen selbst. Denn gut informierte Menschen sind in der Lage, ihre Rechte zu verteidigen und einzufordern. 
HEKS unterstützt sie dabei: Seit Jahren setzen wir uns in unserer Projektarbeit in Afrika, Asien und Lateinamerika für einen verbesserten und gesicherten Zugang zu Wasser ein, etwa durch den Bau oder die Reparatur von Trinkwasser-Brunnen und von Bewässerungssystemen für die Landwirtschaft. HEKS sichert auch die Trinkwasserversorgung nach Naturkatastrophen oder in Flüchtlingscamps.

Zugang zu Wasser für alle - Armenien
Walter Imhof

Blue Community – ein internationales Netzwerk

Die im Jahr 2010 gegründete Blue Community ist ein internationales Netzwerk von zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen und öffentlichen Institutionen, die sich für die Durchsetzung des Menschenrechts auf Wasser als öffentliches Gut engagieren. Sie wurde als Instrument zur Umsetzung des von der UN-Vollversammlung angenommenen Menschenrechts auf Zugang zu Wasser ins Leben gerufen. Mitglied können politische Gemeinden, Kirchgemeinden und Organisationen werden. 
HEKS ist seit dem Jahr 2017 Mitglied der Blue Community und setzt sich im Rahmen seiner Netzwerk-Arbeit für deren Anliegen ein. Interessierte Gruppen und Einzelpersonen können sich ans HEKS wenden in Bezug auf Fragen zu einer Mitgliedschaft bei der Blue Community.

Karl Heuberger HEKS - Wasser
Sind Sie interessiert?
Kontaktieren Sie mich

Karl Heuberger
Tel.: +41 44 360 88 81
E-Mail: karl.heuberger@heks.ch

Projektbeispiele

Mehr erfahren

Spenden Sie jetzt!

Ihre Spende wird im Kleinen Grosses bewirken

CHF
30
CHF
75
CHF
120
CHF
Bestimmen Sie selbst, wie viel Sie spenden möchten.
Ich spende für: