Press release of 8 March 2022

Emergency aid for refugees from Ukraine: HEKS/EPER scales up its emergency aid to two million francs

Despite numerous urgent pleas from the international community, Russia continues its invasion of Ukraine undeterred. The worst fears have come true, with the civilian population now being targeted in this atrocious war. Thousands are having to hide in bunkers, and two million people have already fled to neighbouring countries. HEKS/EPER is therefore providing two million francs in humanitarian aid to support those fleeing Ukraine to neighbouring countries and to Switzerland.

HEKS/EPER has maintained long-standing ties with the Reformed Churches in Ukraine and in neighbouring European countries. These churches look after underprivileged people in their countries. Now too, they stand ready to help and care for refugees in their time of need.
Hilfe für ukrainische Flüchtlinge - Helfen Sie jetzt
András D. Hajdú

In Ukraine, HEKS/EPER supports the Reformed Church in Transcarpathia. Even in this difficult situation, the organisation continues to look after the elderly and people with disabilities, many of whom have stayed behind while mainly women and children have left the country. In addition, the church is taking care of refugees from the territories that are being fought over.

In Hungary, HEKS/EPER is working with the Refugee Service of the Hungarian Reformed Church at border crossings and major train stations. A cash project is now being put together to provide refugees with cash so that they can buy urgently needed food, toiletries or medicines, and also communicate with their relatives and, where applicable, fund their onward journey. The Refugee Service is also making arrangements for longer-term accommodations and for providing integration assistance.

In Slovakia, the social welfare service of the Reformed Church in Slovakia has set up a heated tent at the Vysné Nemecké border crossing, where refugees receive warm meals and are able to rest and organize their onward journey.

Now it needs your solidarity!

The price for this war is once again being paid by the civilian population, who have lost their homes or their security. Several million people are currently in need of humanitarian aid. Please support us in alleviating their suffering. Thank you very much for your donation.

Rapid emergency relief also in Romania

In Romania, HEKS/EPER is working with its partner organizations at three border crossings in Siret, Halmeu and Sighetu, and in the city of Iași. Refugees are received immediately and given assistance at the train station. Most of all, they need shelter, food and medical care. Moreover, a reception centre with a capacity of 400 persons has now been set up in one of the city's administrative buildings. At that centre, HEKS/EPER is looking after the children, and organising mobile showers, washing machines, tumble dryers, and meals.

Assistance in Switzerland

In Switzerland too, HEKS/EPER is making preparations to help people from Ukraine. HEKS/EPER will be responsible for billeting refugees in host families in Eastern Switzerland and Basel. People arriving at the Federal Asylum Centres (FACs) in Basel and Altstätten are referred to host families who have signed up to provide private accommodation. HEKS/EPER personnel will be taking over this task at the FACs. Further arrangements are now being made to assist refugees in Switzerland.

Pictures

Bettina Filacanavo
Kontaktieren Sie mich
Bettina Filacanavo
Telefon direkt: 044 360 88 24
E-Mail: bettina.filacanavo@heks.ch

Thank you for your Support!

Your donation will trigger big changes from small beginnings.

CHF
90
CHF
150
CHF
250
CHF
Select the amount of your donation
Your donation goes to:
Emergency Aid Ukraine

Medienmitteilung vom 8. März 2022

Nothilfe für Geflüchtete aus der Ukraine: HEKS erhöht seine Nothilfe auf zwei Millionen Franken

Allen dringenden Appellen der internationalen Gemeinschaft zum Trotz setzt Russland seine Invasion in der Ukraine unvermindert fort. Die schlimmsten Befürchtungen sind wahr geworden: Die Zivilbevölkerung wird zur Zielscheibe in diesem grausamen Krieg. Tausende müssen sich in Bunkern verstecken, und bereits zwei Millionen Menschen sind in die Nachbarländer geflohen. HEKS leistet deshalb humanitäre Hilfe in der Höhe von zwei Millionen Franken, mit der die Menschen unterstützt werden, die aus der Ukraine in die Nachbarländer sowie in die Schweiz fliehen.

HEKS unterhält langjährige Beziehungen zu den reformierten Kirchen in der Ukraine und in den europäischen Nachbarländern. Diese kümmern sich um benachteiligte Menschen in ihrem Land. Sie stehen auch jetzt bereit, um zu helfen und Geflüchteten in ihrer Not beizustehen. 
Hilfe für ukrainische Flüchtlinge - Helfen Sie jetzt
András D. Hajdú

In der Ukraine unterstützt HEKS die «Reformierte Kirche in Transkarpatien». Die Organisation kümmert sich auch in dieser schwierigen Situation um ältere Menschen und Menschen mit Beeinträchtigung. Viele von ihnen sind zurückgeblieben, während v.a. Frauen und Kinder das Land verlassen haben. Ausserdem betreut die Kirche Geflüchtete aus den umkämpften Gebieten. 

In Ungarn arbeitet HEKS mit dem «Flüchtlingsdienst der Ungarisch Reformierten Kirche» an den Grenzübergängen und an grossen Bahnhöfen. Derzeit im Aufbau ist ein Cash Projekt, bei dem Geflüchtete Bargeld erhalten, um dringend benötigte Nahrungsmittel, Hygieneprodukte oder Medikamente kaufen zu können sowie für die Kommunikation mit ihren Angehörigen und gegebenenfalls die Weiterreise. Der Flüchtlingsdienst ist zudem dabei, längerfristige Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten zu schaffen und eine Integrationshilfe aufzubauen.

In der Slowakei hat die «Diakonie der Reformierten Kirche in der Slowakei» am Grenzübergang Vysné Nemecké ein geheiztes Zelt aufgebaut, in dem die Geflüchteten warmes Essen erhalten, und in dem sie sich ausruhen und ihre Weiterreise organisieren können. 

Jetzt braucht es Ihre Solidarität!

Den Preis für diesen Krieg bezahlt einmal mehr die Zivilbevölkerung, die ihr Zuhause oder ihre Sicherheit verloren hat. Mehrere Millionen Menschen benötigen zurzeit humanitäre Hilfe. Bitte unterstützen Sie uns dabei, ihre Not zu lindern. Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Spende.

Schnelle Nothilfe auch in Rumänien

In Rumänien arbeitet HEKS mit seinen Partnerorganisationen an drei Grenzübergängen in Siret, Halmeu und Sighetu und in der Stadt Iași. Die Geflüchteten werden am Bahnhof sofort in Empfang genommen und unterstützt. Sie brauchen vor allem Unterkünfte, Nahrung und medizinische Versorgung. Zudem wurde in einem Verwaltungsgebäude der Stadt ein Aufnahmezentrum mit einer Kapazität für 400 Personen eingerichtet. HEKS betreut dort die Kinder, organisiert mobile Duschen, Waschmaschinen und Wäschetrockner sowie Mahlzeiten. 

Hilfe in der Schweiz

Auch in der Schweiz trifft HEKS Vorbereitungen, um Menschen aus der Ukraine beizustehen. HEKS wird in der Ostschweiz und in Basel die Vermittlung von Geflüchteten an Gastfamilien übernehmen. Die Menschen, die in den Bundesasylzentren (BAZ) in Basel und Altstätten ankommen, werden an Gastfamilien, die sich für eine private Unterbringung registriert haben, weitervermittelt. HEKS-Mitarbeiter:innen werden diese Arbeit in den BAZ vor Ort übernehmen. Weitere Abklärungen zur Unterstützung der Geflüchteten in der Schweiz sind im Gange.

Fotos

Bettina Filacanavo
Kontaktieren Sie mich
Bettina Filacanavo
Telefon direkt: 044 360 88 24
E-Mail: bettina.filacanavo@heks.ch

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung.

Ihre Spende wird im Kleinen Grosses bewirken!

CHF
90
CHF
150
CHF
250
CHF
Bestimmen Sie selbst, wieviel Sie spenden möchten.
Ich spende für:
Nothilfe Ukraine